A Room with a View

Writing 101 Day 2: A Room with a View
Today’s Prompt: If you could zoom through space in the speed of light, what place would you go to right now?
Today’s twist: organize your post around the description of a setting.

The freezing, cold wind blows through me. All I can see below my feet is a sea of clouds. The sun rises and bright light of yellow, orange, and red magically explodes revealing mountain peaks that extend beyond infinity.

This is what it’s like to be on top of the third highest mountain in the Philippines, Mt. Pulag. I’ve been there twice and it’s a place that is always worth returning to. I love hiking and climbing mountains. That explains my huge calves made bigger because of all the walking. I wish to be there again or climb any mountain for that matter.

I better explore them now while they’re still there. Because sooner or later, man would cut down the trees, flatten the mountains, build structures and roads. They would call it tourism. They say it’s good for the economy. It generates jobs. It promotes the area. But who benefits really?

I’m an Igorot, a group of indigenous people hailing from the mountains. Maybe that explains my affinity to the earth. City dwellers sometimes refer to Igorots as uncivilized and it’s a term of ridicule referring to someone who is dark and dirty. I don’t understand people, educated ones at that.

I look out the window. I’m the midst of the civilized. All I see are tall buildings. The noise of cars and people talking drown out the soft whisper of the wind, or a bird calling if there’s any.

I close my eyes. Searched my memory and went back to the sea of clouds.

1934163_12276393046_8014_n
Mt. Pulag Summit
Author: Ryan Bestre

Environmentalist. Teacher. Writer.

6 thoughts on “A Room with a View”

  1. This is a beautiful piece of writing. I have city-dwelling family in the Philippines and it is completely befuddling to hear those comments about ‘uncivilized people’ come out of their mouths. When I’ve visited, they are so proud of their new shopping malls or whatever and keep taking me to those places. They see someone who grew up in the States and think I value these things and am impressed by them and their ridiculous comments about ‘wild people’. Truth is, I love climbing mountains too. My dad has US indigenous blood. Whenever I visit I practically have to beg to go anywhere that doesn’t involve tall buildings and the noise of cars. I am very proud of being Pinay and love going ‘home’, but it really is heartbreaking to know that these beautiful things you wrote about may be something I won’t get to see. You’ve inspired me! Next time I visit I will try my best to climb a mountain, even if it pisses off my city-dwelling family. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sam, thank you for your kind thoughts. It’s sad how we lost our connection to the earth. Yes, do visit the Cordilleras – Baguio, Sagada, Banaue – while urbanization has not completely taken over these places yet.

      Like

  2. This is a very unique piece of writing. I enjoy how you describe the differences between the natural world and the man-made world. I can understand the feelings you have expressed in regard to the destruction of the natural world, and it is horrible to know that people regard others as uncivilized for enjoying and respecting the natural world. I learnt a lot from this post, so thank you for writing this.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

