A Character-Building Experience

Writing 101 Day 6: A Character-Building Experience Today’s Prompt: Who’s the most interesting person (or people) you’ve met this year? Today’s twist: Turn your post into a character study.

They never failed to drive me off the wall. I pulled my hair, banged my head against a cabinet, screamed at the top of my lungs. And they would continue on with the ruckus.

That’s how my life was for the last two years when I decided to teach elementary students in the public school. It’s not always that bad. There were happy days – Dead Poet’s Society moments where I led the class in singing, dancing, and lively discussion sessions. Generally though, it was a challenge of trying to teach in a small, cramped classroom filled with 50 plus rowdy kids, each with their own personality.

There’s the bundle of energy who can’t sit still, high with who-knows-what. Probably sugar from all the unhealthy snack they eat.

The diligent, inquisitive ones are a joy to teach.  They seem to be fascinated with everything you say.  Feels good knowing that they’re actually learning something from you.

There’s the genius, the leader, the athlete. Full of potential. With proper support and guidance, they would go a long way.

Of course, there are those just staying under the radar, low profile, quiet. Almost invisible. Not that there’s anything wrong with that. I would actually prefer handling them because they would be easier to manage.

And then there’s the notorious – violent, disruptively playful, or just plain evil. They would test your patience. They could bring out the hulk in you. They’re unlovable but on the contrary, that’s what they need. Some attention, love, and care which they don’t really get from their parents. Sadly, a lot of them have a not so ideal family.  And that sort of explains the way they are.

These children have taught me many things. Patience, understanding, how to give tough love. I got frustrated, I got angry but I also learned to do what I have to do and just hope for the best. And I wish, for the sake of the nation, that we become more invested in these kids. They after all, are the future.

Author: Ryan Bestre

Environmentalist. Teacher. Writer.

8 thoughts on “A Character-Building Experience”

      1. Yes, crazy, fun, frustrating, all the emotions you can think of. I burned out after a while and took a totally different career path. I still go back and teach at my daughters school from time to time for a bit of fun

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

