Give and Take

Writing 101 Day 7: Give and Take
Today’s Prompt: Write a post based on the contrast between two things — whether people, objects, emotions, places, or something else.
Today’s twist: write your post in the form of a dialogue.

“Life…”

“Sucks!” That’s my alter ego interrupting me.

“I was going to say ‘Life is beautiful!’”

“Beautiful? Are you kidding me?” He looked at me shaking his head.

What is the point?” he continued. “You go on with life’s nuances and in the end what do you get?”

“You feel accomplished?” I answered.

“And that’s it? And what would you consider an accomplishment in the first place? That which is perceived to be by the standards of the world?”

“Not necessarily. It could simply be doing something that gives you purpose, you know. Or something that makes you happy.”

“Are you happy?” my second self asked me.

“What kind of question is that? Of course, I’m happy!”

“Why?”

“Because there are so many things to be happy about – family, friends, food! Don’t tell me you don’t love food.”

“That’s not the point.”

“The point is life sucks, as you claim, but you learn to deal with the sucky stuff and focus on what matters most.”

“So what matters most?”

“For me, my faith, my relationships, the things I’m passionate about.”

He paused. “So we make our own realities, our own destinies…”

“Exactly!”

“But maybe that’s what we’re made to believe in. Because in fact, it’s all a conspiracy.  We are but pawns in this whole made up universe.”

“But life is a choice. You choose to be the person you are. You choose to believe. You choose to be ignorant. You choose between sanity and the comfort of the unreal. You choose to exist. You choose life… And right now, I choose not to listen to you anymore.”

Silence.

Author: Ryan Bestre

Environmentalist. Teacher. Writer.

5 thoughts on “Give and Take”

Leave a Reply

