Happy Sunday

Writing 101 Day 10: Happy (Insert Special Occasion Here)!
Today’s Prompt: Tell us something about your favorite childhood meal
Today’s twist: Tell the story in your own distinct voice.

I love spaghetti. When I was a kid, my dad would bring me and my two brothers and sister to a place called “Tummy Filler.” This was like our bonding moment. Every Sunday, after church, we would have lunch there. I would usually order spaghetti. Cooked the way I like it. Mostly sweet. I can almost smell the intoxicating aroma. Thinking about it makes me nostalgic and makes my stomach growl in protest.

From then on, spaghetti became one of my favorite dishes. Perhaps because of the memory associated to it.

It’s sad how moments like these become rarer and rarer until they simply cease from happening. You mature, you become busy, and grow apart. This happens even with family.

I guess this is an inevitable part of life. As with death. My dad recently had a mild stroke. Scary but it’s funny how we were able to joke about the whole thing, never taking it seriously. Another realization of how fleeting life can be. Now wishing for more happy Sundays with my dad or a happy every day with the people I love. And yes, more spaghetti to eat!

Author: Ryan Bestre

Environmentalist. Teacher. Writer.

Leave a Reply

