Point of View

Writing 101 Day 9: Point of View
Today’s Prompt: A man and a woman walk through the park together, holding hands. They pass an old woman sitting on a bench. The old woman is knitting a small, red sweater. The man begins to cry. Write this scene.
Today’s twist: write the scene from three different points of view: from the perspective of the man, then the woman, and finally the old woman.

How can I tell her? I don’t want to break her heart? I love her so much?

I want to stay in love with this man. I want us to remain in this moment. Right here, right now. I like the tender feel of his hands. I don’t want to let go.

What a lovely couple. Reminds me of my younger days.

 ***

Reminds me of Ana. Red is her favorite color. Small, red sweater. The baby, the baby inside her. My baby. Guilt is eating me up. I can’t take this anymore.

I look at my husband. He starts crying. What’s wrong?

What’s this? A man crying.

 ***

Be a man and tell her! “I cheated on you!”

“What?!” How can you do this to me?

“Oh dear…” Men! Ugh! Not a lovely couple after all!

Author: Ryan Bestre

Environmentalist. Teacher. Writer.

Leave a Reply

