Dark Clouds

Writing 101 Day 12: Dark Clouds on the (Virtual) Horizon
Today’s Prompt: Write a post inspired by a real-world conversation.
Today’s twist: include an element of foreshadowing in the beginning of your post.

It was raining the day he died. The rain tapped persistently on the window waking me up from my trancelike unconsciousness. I was sitting there for around 30 minutes now, no, I checked my watch, only 15 minutes, felt like a lot longer than that though.

I remember the last time I talked to him. In this same place, the coffee shop.

“So what’s up?” he asked and took a sip of the coffee he ordered that has no sugar in it.

We talked about politics, corruption, and world domination. About war and poverty. About our buddies whom we haven’t seen for such a long time. About the good old days when we were younger and couldn’t care less of what’s happening around us.

Then a long pause. Nobody said a word, probably thinking of what to talk about next.

“What if there’s no God?”

I gazed at Gabriel, surprised at his question. “You don’t believe in God?” I asked back.

“You know, beyond belief and all… What if God is merely a symbolism of our hopes?”

“So what’s this? Your version of ‘Da Vinci Code’?”

“Seriously…”

“Well, everybody needs a sense of God. It’s what makes us…um, sane, human.”

“You mean the absence of this sense of God could somehow strip away reason?”

“Bluntly speaking, yes. But it could be more complex than that…”

“There simply can be no answer to our every question. But it really doesn’t matter does it? It’s just… faith.”

“There you go. I guess you just answered your question.”

Gabriel smiled. I drank all the coffee in my cup never minding how cold it has gone.

“Why are we here? What’s life for?”

“For us to enjoy all the coffee we want?” I chimed in.

“Do you think man is naturally evil that they choose to make life so miserable?”

“I don’t know if it’s a blessing or a curse that we are given the freedom of choice. The sad thing is we usually make the wrong choices.”

“What’s the deal with people, anyway? And let me borrow Solomon’s words: chasing after who-knows-what.”

“The wind.”

“What?”

“The wind, we’re chasing after the wind; it’s what Solomon said. I think it’s true happiness that we’re after.”

“And meaning…”

“Yeah, meaning – meaningfulness of life that makes us wanna live forever to prove that we do have a meaningful life.”

“As I once heard, you don’t have to live forever you just have to live. Whatever that means.”

We talked some more. About current events. About the deterioration of society. About the end of days. About heaven and hell.

“That is, if there’s a God with which the concept of heaven and hell seem connected with” Gabriel remarked.

“And if there’s no heaven or hell, what? We’ll be reincarnated to lowly cockroaches when we die?” I teased.

“At least we’ll be able to survive in this nearly toxic world. Did you know that cockroaches are one of the most resilient creatures on earth? Which leads back to the question of God’s existence. If there’s no God, how did the earth or even these cockroaches come to be – out of thin air or something?”

“Faith…” we chorused.

That was the last time I saw and spoke to him. Now I wonder if his faith led him somewhere. Somewhere like heaven. I would want to believe he’s in heaven.

The rain has stopped. I sat there for a few minutes then left.

Author: Ryan Bestre

Environmentalist. Teacher. Writer.

2 thoughts on “Dark Clouds”

Leave a Reply

