Serially Found

Writing 101 Day 13: Serially Found
Today’s Prompt: write about finding something.
Today’s twist: if you wrote day four’s post as the first in a series, use this one as the second installment — loosely defined.

I lost my youthfulness together with freedom, exuberance, and naiveté. Life happened and I became more serious. I immersed myself in work. And I sort of forgot how to be happy.

Now, I’m trying to find it back. I know happiness is a choice. That’s why whoever came up with the 100 Happy Days Challenge is a genius. It helps you focus on the positive. With all the things that happened to you in a day, thinking of those that made you happy, even the simplest ones could really make a difference.

I want to live my life to the fullest and just YOLO away. I want to do what I want to do without being restricted of the fear of being criticized or judged by other people. Forget about the spotlight effect, that crippling illusion that all eyes are on you.

“Planets spin. Lightning leaps. Atoms dance. And so do we.” So I dance. I sing. I perform.

I travel. I try to meet new people. I volunteer. Real happiness is shared so I try to help out as much as I can.

La vita e bella. Life is beautiful. I have to make the most out of it. Enjoy every moment. Savor every meal. Be grateful. Delight in every relationship I have. Appreciate people more. Take pleasure in my job and the things that I do. Embrace challenges and problems. I should not be a slave to the past and be too preoccupied of the future. I have to live my life now.

It is a challenge. I can’t say it’s that easy. But I’m glad I found happiness again. It was right there all along.

Author: Ryan Bestre

Environmentalist. Teacher. Writer.

4 thoughts on “Serially Found”

Leave a Reply

