Lost and Found

Writing 101 Day 16: Third Time’s the Charm
Today’s Prompt: Imagine you had a job in which you had to sift through forgotten or lost belongings. Describe a day in which you come upon something peculiar, or tell a story about something interesting you find in a pile.
Today’s twist: If you’d like to continue our serial challenge, also reflect on the theme of lost and found more generally in this post.

I sift through the drawers of my mind for forgotten and lost memories. I know they’re not entirely lost. Just lying there, collecting dust – piled over.

I lost my youthfulness. But my younger years were full of life, full of energy. I can recall those carefree moments of spending the day in the sun – running, playing with my friends, pretending we are heroes fighting evil villains. Each day is full of possibilities – endless games, numerous stories to tell, lessons learned from skinned knees, real friendship built over shared experiences.

As a teenager, my time was devoted to school, church, and extra-curricular activities. I was enthusiastic and optimistic about life. Not so much of the growing pains, and angst, and rebellion. I enjoyed every minute, laughing to my heart’s content and met with annoyance and disapproval from polite, prim and proper adults. Which I eventually turn into.

Growing up, I lost the spark and the happiness connected to it. But in an attempt to seize the day and make my life extraordinary, I constantly remind myself that in the end, it’s my choice – to stay youthful, to be happy, to lead a life I wish to be.

I sift through the drawers of my mind. And I realize that life has been so kind to me. I revisit treasured moments and all I have is a grateful heart and prayer of thanks. I often take this for granted. Sometimes demanding for good things which I think I deserve. But I’m humbled at how everything works out in God’s time.

I sift through the drawers of my mind and I see these faces. Faces long gone. Comes to me almost like a blur. People come and go. That’s just the way it is. Maybe our paths would cross again. Maybe not. We cannot tell. So we try to make every encounter meaningful.

I sift through the drawers of my mind thinking I lost myself in life’s journey but then I found peace.

Author: Ryan Bestre

Environmentalist. Teacher. Writer.

4 thoughts on “Lost and Found”

Leave a Reply

