The Things We Treasure

Writing 101 Day 20: The Things We Treasure
Today’s Prompt: Tell us the story of your most-prized possession.
Today’s twist: We extolled the virtues of brevity back on day five, but now, let’s jump to the other side of the spectrum and turn to long form writing.

I used to collect so many things when I was younger. Buttons, coins, stamps, chocolate wrappers, stones, playing cards, test papers from school, pictures, and signatures among other things. I treasured everything. I don’t know if it was just a phase but I abandoned this hobby and chose a clutter-free, minimalist, and simpler lifestyle.

I also learned to give away stuff. It’s funny how it was easy for me to let go of the few things I own. Instead of keeping it somewhere, thinking it would be of use someday, might as well give it to someone who would use it today.

That’s how I roll. Ask me to move or travel to a place and I’ll bring with me one luggage and my backpack containing my whole life – well just the essentials: clothes, important documents, phone and laptop, and that’s pretty much it.

You cannot hold on to material possessions forever. It can be lost in a fire, stolen, just poof! Gone. Having this mentality gives me that peace of mind. And helps me focus on more important things. Moments, time spent with people, experiences.

I know things with sentimental value helps you remember a special moment. Because we easily forget. Or time has a cruel way of erasing memories. We should then always be “in the moment.” That’s when time stands still. And a minute can be an eternity. And the moment passes.

Taking photographs is an attempt to capture such moments. A picture though cannot give you the exact emotion, the smell, the taste, the nuances. Yet we take load of photos anyway, especially now that technology easily allows us to do so. Sometimes it’s annoying seeing people abusing this freedom. Documenting, so to speak, every single thing. This is me waking up. This is what I’m wearing. I’m eating this for breakfast. Done with breakfast… Guess what, nobody cares!

It’s amusing to see groups of friends around a table but not talking to each other. Their heads bowed down. Tinkering with their phones. Desperately trying to make their online image perfect. And failing to connect with real people.

I miss having real conversations. Talking about anything and everything. I like picking people’s minds. It’s how I make sense of life. Or justify how absurd it is. Through this, I’ve learned to invest in relationships and experiences. Because these can’t be lost in a fire, it can’t be stolen, it can’t simply be gone.

I’m not very materialistic. And I don’t like buying stuff. Probably this comes with me being an environmentalist. One way of reducing your ecological footprint or your impact to the environment is by lessening how often you consume or purchase things. So those shoes, I’ve been wearing them for four years. That backpack has served me for more than ten years now. And this laptop I’m using has been loyal and stayed with me for eight years.

I’m more comfortable spending on travels, meet ups with friends, and activities like watching a theater play, volunteering, and performing.

“For where your treasure is, there your heart will be.”(Luke 12:34) So my heart is definitely there, living in the moment, spending time with people, and experiencing life to the fullest.

Author: Ryan Bestre

Environmentalist. Teacher. Writer.

4 thoughts on “The Things We Treasure”

Leave a Reply

