I just want to get home!

The heaven was angry. It poured rain upon us all. Maybe the plants needed watering? But I thought they were already drowning.

I waited for a while. Hoping the rain would let up. It just won’t stop.

So I braved the storm. Got soaking wet. Tried to get a cab. Couldn’t get one. So I walked on.

Then I saw all the cars unmoving. And all these people just standing. Still waiting for the sky to stop crying?

And lo and behold, the road is a river of filthy, black flood waters. Cars don’t dare drive through it. The crowd is not keen at wading in its waist deep tributary.

The rain finally stopped. And we stood there, helpless, not knowing what to do. And we waited. For the water to submerge. For some form of transport – like a rickshaw or a make-shift boat made from Styrofoam.

The water started to recede. Ever so slowly. We waited. Thirty minutes. One hour. My legs got tired from standing.

“How am I supposed to get home?” I heard someone yell.

What the heck, just go! And so I did! I walked as if treading through the flood water didn’t bother me. I walked surprised how okay I was with it all. I walked until I got home.

Author: Ryan Bestre

Environmentalist. Teacher. Writer.

5 thoughts on “I just want to get home!”

Leave a Reply

