Keep it positive… but what the hell!

Yep! The world we live in IS hell. Sounds over dramatic but I’m in the rant mode so bugger off!

Must be the heat. God, it’s so freaking hot. Is this global warming? HELLO?! Have you been living under a rock? You’ve known all along. You felt the temperature getting hotter and hotter. You experienced all these weird weather conditions happening around you. Storm, if you’re out there, get your act together and stop going crazy on us.

Surprise, surprise! It’s not your fault. Blame the weather witch, the government, anyone but yourself.

Oh, sorry, your gracious one. Oh, so learned. The “wisdomous” you. Who can’t even manage to put his trash in the bin! What? You have something to say? Every one’s damn smart these days. That’s a good thing, I guess. Freedom of speech. Go ahead and spill your guts and soul out, and your two-cents on everything. You’re entitled to your own opinion and I won’t take that away. Thanks to social media, you’re given the chance to do just that.

Once upon a time, it started as a brave announcement of who you are – your best photo, the cool stuff you get to do, all these places you can travel to. Congratulations for having a happy life! And then came the mundane. Posting a ridiculous status just for the heck of it. Or a pic of what you’re about to eat. Or your ever LOVELY face. And then it turned to analysis and dissection of every issue there is. To be fair, that’s also a good thing. We’re going beyond the shallow. Or so we think.

It pays to just stay quiet. Silence is golden. But is that better than speaking up? I do admire those who have the courage to take a stand. Though it requires a lot of wisdom to know when to actually speak.

“Hope is a dangerous thing; hope can drive a man insane,” said Red in the movie, “Shawshank Redemption.” On the contrary, hope keeps me sane. It’s that one thing I could hold on to, to make sense of all the craziness.

More than 10 years ago, I asked if the Philippines will ever change. Nothing much happened.

I had to move to Manila for work and was exposed to how imperfect the capital is. Well, imperfect is an understatement.

Idealistic as I was, wishing to contribute to nation-building, I decided to be a teacher. I got frustrated over how the educational system is not as ideal as I thought it would be. I felt helpless because at the end of the day, you can only do so much.

Now my new job entails a lot of transactions with government offices and LGUs. It’s infuriating to see the incompetence and blatant corruption.

So how can you stay positive? How can you stay hopeful?

“Hope is a good thing, maybe the best of things, and no good thing ever dies.” This was Andy’s retort to Red. And I hope he’s right because I sure am losing all the hope that I have.

Author: Ryan Bestre

Environmentalist. Teacher. Writer.

2 thoughts on “Keep it positive… but what the hell!”

Leave a Reply

