A not so bad 2016

2016 is almost over and some claim it’s the worst year ever thanks to climate change, Brexit, Zika virus, Trump, Duterte, Syrian civil war, and terrorist attacks to name a few. Is this the reality? Or simply our perception?

I remember writing about how we actually live in a better world. Medium listed 99 reasons why 2016 is a good year – improvement of global health, political and economic progress, decline of violence, rise of sustainable living.

We usually ask, “What’s happening to humanity?” “What happened to kindness?” “Where is the love?” I suppose we haven’t really lost it. It’s just buried in the negativity perpetrated by social media and mass media, influencing our perception and thus it becoming our reality.

Well, 2016 for me has been great! I did a lot of environmental advocacy work which was awesome. I became part of Al Gore’s Climate Reality Project. I continued campaigning for ecological agriculture and got to discover the realities of the broken food system. I thus, started to be more conscious about the food I eat and got to appreciate food more especially when I experienced planting and harvesting rice. True to being an environmentalist, I decided to change my blog name to what it is now, “Green Minded” as we all should be. More green that is, and I mean the other kind of green.

2016 allowed me to travel to two of the best places in the Philippines, El Nido and Batanes. Plus, an overseas travel to Bali, Indonesia as part of a fellowship program.

Movies have been my constant companion from Pinoy classics to all-time favorites, to old reliable zombie flicks.

It has been a good year, after all. Take it from Max Ehrmann’s Desiderata, “With all its sham, drudgery, and broken dreams, it is still a beautiful world.” More than just a perception, I believe that is the reality.

Author: Ryan Bestre

Environmentalist. Teacher. Writer.

Leave a Reply

